Ray L. Hunt

Executive Chairman

Hunt Consolidated, Inc.

Ray L. Hunt is a Dallas businessman whose association with Hunt Oil Company began in 1958 as a summer employee in the oil fields. He graduated from Southern Methodist University in 1965 with a degree in economics where he was designated a Distinguished Scholar. Hunt serves as chairman of the board, and chief executive officer of Hunt Consolidated, Inc. Additionally, he serves as a member of the boards of directors of Bessemer Securities Corporation, King Ranch, Inc., and PepsiCo, Inc.

Within the oil and gas industry, Hunt is a member of the board of directors of the American Petroleum Institute. He previously served as president of the Dallas Petroleum Club and the Dallas Wildcat Committee.

Hunt has received several awards that are related to the energy industry. In 2010, he was the inaugural recipient of the L. Frank Pitts Energy Leadership Award, given by the SMU Cox School of Business and the Maguire Energy Institute “to an individual who exemplifies a spirit of ethical leadership and innovative impact on the energy industry.” In 2009, he received the American Petroleum Institute Gold Medal for Distinguished Achievement. In 2007, he received the Distinguished Service and Leadership Award of the 25-Year Club of the Petroleum Industry. Additionally, he received the Public Service Award of the Society of Petroleum Engineers, the Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Oil and Gas Association, and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the North Texas Energy Council. In 1988, he was elected an All-American Wildcatter by the national organization of the same name, followed in 1989 by the John Rogers Award, given by the Southwestern Legal Foundation - “for distinguished service to the petroleum industry and civic institutions.”

Hunt has received three awards that his father, H. L. Hunt, had previously received. In 1992, he was elected to the Texas Business Hall of Fame (an honor which Hunt's father had posthumously received in 1986) and in 2005, he received the annual Chief Roughneck Award (an award his father received in 1966) which recognizes “the one individual whose accomplishments and character best represent the highest ideals of the oil and gas industry.” In 2008, Hunt was awarded the Texas Alliance of Energy Producers Legends Medal (an award posthumously given to Hunt's father in 2002), given to those who “have distinguished themselves in their profession and been a tribute to their communities and country.”

Active in civic affairs, Hunt has previously served as chairman of the board of trustees of Southern Methodist University, chairman of the Dallas Citizens Council, chairman of the North Texas Commission, and chairman of the Central Dallas Association. He is currently chairman of Dallas Medical Resource. Hunt also currently serves as a member of the executive committee of the board of trustees of Southern Methodist University, the board of directors for the George W. Bush Foundation, the board of trustees of the Center for Strategic and International Studies in Washington, D.C., the board of trustees of The Cooper Institute, the advisory council of the Communities Foundation of Texas and the Advisory Board of Texans for Education Reform.

With respect to government service, in October 2001 — and again in January 2006 — Hunt was appointed by President George W. Bush to the President's Intelligence Advisory Board in Washington, D.C., where he served until January 2009. Hunt was also appointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System to the board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas in 1998. Hunt served as chairman of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas for four years (2002-2006) until rotating off of the board on December 31, 2006. Additionally, he is currently a member of the National Petroleum Council (an industry advisory organization to the Secretary of Energy) and served as its chairman from June 1991 to July 1994.

Hunt has also received a number of other awards in the past. He was the first recipient of the J. Erik Jonsson Award, given by the Dallas Regional Chamber of Commerce. In 2000, he received the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Studies Award for Corporate Citizenship. Other awards include the H. Neil Mallon Award, given by the World Affairs Council of Dallas-Fort Worth “for promoting Dallas as an international city”; the Distinguished Business Leader Award, given by the Texas Association of Business; and the Heath Award, given by the Dallas County Medical Society “to honor and recognize a layperson that has provided outstanding leadership and service to medicine and to the community of Dallas.” Hunt is the recipient of the Charles Cameron Sprague Community Service Award given by the Southwestern Medical Foundation.

In 2007, Hunt was selected as the recipient of the Linz Award, presented by The Dallas Morning News. The award recognizes a Dallas County citizen whose community and humanitarian efforts created the greatest benefit to the city of Dallas during the decade without receiving monetary compensation. Hunt, along with his wife Nancy Ann Hunt, received the Maguire Ethics Center's 2013 J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award which is given to individuals (and in 2013, for the first time, to the couple) who exemplify the spirit of moral leadership and public virtue.

Hunt is also a member of the Alfalfa Club in Washington, D. C.